Episode 120: White Walls; Secret Black


White Walls
Recorded & Mixed by Branko Cosic.
Recorded at the Greenslopes Bowls Club on the 14th of March, 2015.

Starting in the early-2010’s, White Walls been tagged as as a Shoegaze band, but I think that’s discounting the whole picture. The 3-piece band consist of Dylan Black & Fuj McLean on guitars, and Rory Heane on Drums. The lack of a bass player is not missed in this trio’s sound, as the thunderous guitars more than make up the frequency band that makes you bob your head. Releasing two EP’s in 2011, and their 2012 self-titled debut, they’ve slowly but surely been winning new followers that come in contact with their sound. Recently they were up in Queensland for the Sonic Masala Festival and we managed to capture the raw essence of the band live.


Secret Black
Recorded & Mixed by Cameron Smith.
Recorded at the Waiting Room on the 31st of May, 2014.

Secret Black is an instrumental group consisting of Adam Cadell (The Scrapes), Jamie Curran (Ghost Notes, Built From Sticks), Adrian Marsh (4ZZZ’s Rusted Satellites, Ghost Notes) and Dave Ryan (Dempefka). This recording is currently the only widely available release of any of Secret Black’s music, and is taken from a live performance at Brisbane DIY space The Waiting Room back in May 2014. The one-off performance was curated in support of Ambitious Lovers, who had reunited for that particular night, and which set was featured on Episode 115 of Live Delay.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 8-9pm, Friday 1 May 2015.
Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s