EP 179: Luke Daniel Peacock; Jonathan Boulet

Luke Daniel Peacock


Recorded by Branko Cosic
Mixed by Branko Cosic
Recorded at the HOME Showcase at BIGSOUND Festival, Brisbane , 7th September 2016.

Kicking off his career on keys and guitar in the critically-acclaimed Brisbane group Halfway, Luke Daniel Peacock has since become a prolific songwriter in his own right. In 2014, he was the driving creative force for the groundbreaking project, The Painted Ladies, a group that revived the lost songs of Vic Simms in an album titled ‘The Painted Ladies Play Selections From The Loner’. This collaboration was produced by Rusty Hopkinson from You Am I and featured The Medics, Paul Kelly, Ed Kuepper (The Saints/The Laughing Clowns), Ian Haug (The Church/Powderfinger), John Willsteed (The Go-Betweens), Phil Noy & Eugene Ball (The Bamboos), Bunna Lawrie (Coloured Stone) and many more. In February 2016, he released his first solo album titled ‘We’ve Come A Long Way Darling’ to much praise, including a Queensland Music Award for his song ‘Fruits Of Our Labour’, as well as receiving the prestigious Billy Thorpe Scholarship Award in 2016. His work sounds like a modern day Australian version of Bruce Springsteen, and he’s well on his way to becoming a legendary artist in his own right.


Jonathan Boulet

Photo by Kerrie Geier

Recorded by Branko Cosic
Mixed by Branko Cosic
Recorded at The Triffid, Brisbane, 6th November 2015.

Coming from Sydney, Jonathan Boulet released his self titled debut solo album in 2009 through Modular Recordings. His debut record was written, recorded, played and produced by himself in his small garage studio. The album was released to much praise and earned him a spot on the Splendour In The Grass lineup in 2010. His second album ‘We Keep The Beat, Found The Sound, See The Need, Start The Heart’ was released in 2012 which further solidified his ability to write catchy, high energy indie pop. After playing a string of international shows and showcases at SXSW, Jonathan took a year off in Berlin to work on new music. What emerged in 2014 was a radically different beast from his previous work. Now signed to Popfrenzy Records, his latest album Gubba is nothing but rock n roll with big drums, face melting guitars, and heavy thumping bass lines.    

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 25th September 2016.

Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.

EP 132: Halfway; The Scrapes



Recorded & Mixed by Branko Cosic.
Recorded at The Triffid, Brisbane, 24th of April, 2015.

Made up of eight players, Brisbane based rock band, Halfway injects the unusual combination of banjo, pedal steel guitar, piano, and mandolin into the genre’s usual instrumentation. Three of the members – John Busby, Elwin Hawtin and Chris Dale originally hail from Rockhampton, Central Queensland. After moving to Brisbane and recruiting the like-minded Ben Johnson (bass), Halfway was formed in 2000. Joining shortly after were Dublin born brothers Noel Fitzpatrick (pedal steel) and Liam Fitzpatrick (banjo/mandolin).

The finishing touches to the lineup were added with the inclusion of ex-Go-Between John Willsteed (guitar) & Luke Peacock ‘The Bird’ (keys/guitar). Since their formation, the band has released four critically acclaimed albums, the latest being ‘Any Old Love’ in 2014. In 2008, key writers, John Busby and Chris Dale won the Grant McLennan Memorial Fellowship, arguably one of the most prestigious song writing award in Australia.


The Scrapes

Recorded & Mixed by Branko Cosic.
Recorded at The Ice Cream Factory, Brisbane, 14th of July, 2012.

Formed in Brisbane in early 2009, The Scrapes are an unusual duo who combine feedback drenched guitar and scraping, epic violin. Their music is rooted firmly in the traditions of western classical music while representing an attempt to break the chains of these traditions. It is music that evokes landscapes and acts of nature as well as cerebral landscapes.

Inspired equally by composers such as Arvo Pärt, Philip Glass and La Monte Young, sound artists and pioneers of the drone such as Tony Conrad and Spacemen 3, and the dark, demented sounds of the underground of rock music, The Scrapes can be at once immersive and chaotic in a live setting where wild improvisation and high volume come into the fold.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 8-9pm, Friday 14 August 2015.
Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.

Episode 87: Mixed Bag


Recorded by John Robinson.
Mixed by John Robinson.
Recorded at Big Sound 2012

Halfway originally formed in 2000 shortly after John Busby, Chris Dale and Elwin Hawton moved from Rockhampton to Brisbane and met bassist Ben Johnson. Later, they added brothers Noel and Liam Fitzparick and by 2008 the group had released 2 records and picked up the Grant McLennan prize for song-writing. Recently, they’ve added ex-Go-Between John Willsteed and Luke Peacock to to bring that headcount up to 8. In February 2014 they released their latest record, Any Old Love, which received high praise from Mess + Noise, The Courier Mail and the Sydney Morning Herald.

Listen to ‘Any Old Love’ on the Halfway Bandcamp.

Adele & Glenn
Recorded by John Robinson.
Mixed by John Robinson.
Recorded at Big Sound 2012

Adele Pickvance and Glenn Thompson were the rhythm section for the Go-Betweens during the ‘re-formation years’ between 2000 and 2006. In 2011 they got back together to play each other’s songs and released their first album ‘Carrington Street’ in 2012. They received some very nice reviews for their humble indie-folk record.

Check out Adele and Glenn on Facebook.

Recorded by Branko Cosic.
Mixed by Josh Watson.
Recorded at The Haunt, Brisbane. 4th July 2014.

Formed in Brisbane 2013, Deadshred finds members of Slug Guts, Per Purpose, Feathers and Thigh Master getting together to make noisey post-punk. In October of this year they’ll be releasing a debut cassette on Tenth Court Records. The tape is called ‘Thousand Yard Staring Competition’ and if lead single ‘Ratsakk’ is anything to go by then it’s going to rock harder than a belch in the ear.

Hear Deadshred’s debut single, Ratsakk, over at soundcloud.

Engineered by Jack Farley.
Produced by Grace K.
Originally aired on ‘Straight to You’ for PBS 106.7FM. 7th January 2013.

In April Nun’s self-titled debut album was co-released by Aarght! and Avant Records. Shadowy, brooding and drawing from a history of occultism in Victoria, the record follows on in the same vein as their first 7” released in 2012 on Nihilistic Orbs, the label for all things Dark, electronic and Australian.

Check out Nun and some tracks from their debut album over at the Aarght! Records site.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 8-9pm, Friday 12 September 2014.
Show production and engineering: Josh Watson.