Ep 299 – Best of 2019 Part 2


Following on from our mid-year retrospective back in July, we are delighted to present Part 2 of our best of 2019, drawing on the cream of the crop recorded in the back half of the year.

Featuring highlights from Tape/Off, Full Flower Moon Band, Moreton, Elder, Chalk, Tralala Blip, TOP nachos, TOTTY, Polygon Woods, The Stress of Leisure, Hound, HEXDEBT, Ex Catholics, Jess Ribeiro, Desperada and Julia R. Anderson.

Show production, engineering and host: Scott Mercer
Originally aired via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 22 December, 2019

Ep 289 – Jess Ribeiro


Jess Ribeiro – Joshua Braybrook

Jess Ribeiro:

Recorded by Nell Forster & Scott Mercer
Mixed by Conner McDonald
Recorded at The Bearded Lady, West End, 12 July 2019

Born and raised in Armidale, New South Wales, Ribeiro spent time in Brisbane and Darwin before settling in Melbourne. It was in the Northern Territory that she formed her band The Bone Collectors, with whom she released her first album in 2011, “My Little River”.

Initially folk-country in tone, her second album “Kill It Yourself” from 2015 took her music into darker, swampier places, produced in collaboration with the legendary Mick Harvey. “Love Hate” is the title of Ribeiro’s latest album, released in April of 2019. When her album launch tour stopped in Brisbane a few months ago the Live Delay team were there to capture the whole set, including her charming and frequently amusing stage banter.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 6 October, 2019

Show host: Scott Mercer

Show production and engineering: Scott Mercer

EP 158: Jess Ribeiro; WAAX; Caitlin Park

Jess Ribeiro
Recorded by Alicia Saye and Paul Maybury
Mixed by Alicia Saye and Paul Maybury
Mastered by Paul Maybury
Recorded at PBS Fm Studios, Melbourne, 3rd February 2016.


Jess Ribeiro’s career started as a three piece, featuring her long-term​ collaborator Rob Law in the group Jess Ribeiro and the Bone Collectors in the very under-represented​ city of Darwin. Their debut album My Little River won best country album at the 2013 AIR independent label awards. After an amicable creative split with Rob Law, Jess began working on her first solo record with legendary Australian musician, composer, songwriter, arranger Mick Harvey. Her album ‘Kill It Yourself’ was released in August 2015.


Recorded and Mixed by Branko Cosic.
Recorded at The Elephant, Brisbane, 25th January 2016.

Starting in 2013, WAAX have been pushing everyone out of their way with their raw, punk-infused​ brand of rock. They have rapidly become an act that’s known for their high energy live shows that is partly due to the fear instilled​ by their utterly terrifying and frenzied frontwoman Marie DeVita. In 2015, they released their debut EP Holy Sick and followed it up with an east coast tour that had everyone talking.

Caitlin Park

Recorded by Harvey O’Sullivan & Hugh Fasher
Mixed by Harvey O’Sullivan
Mastered by Andrew Edgson
Recorded at The Standard on the 12th of February, 2014.

Caitlin Park writes and performs folktronica, taking folk and electro-acoustics to new heights with her abstract composition, sampling and film nostalgia. Releasing her debut album in 2011, MILK ANNUAL is a sprawling, intricate and heart-warming foray into the soundscapes of old films, audio books, spoken word, and minimalistic musical arrangement. For much of 2012, Caitlin travelled to New York and London and collected sounds which would appear on her critically lauded 2nd album, 2013’s The Sleeper, which was shortlisted for the Australian Music Prize.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 3rd April 2016.
Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.