EP 257: The Gametes

Ep 257 Instagram.png

Photo: Unknown

The Gametes

Recorded & mixed by Branko Cosic
Recorded at the Foundry, Brisbane, 25th August 2018

Forming in 2017, the Gametes are Tom Harden on guitar and vocals, Charles Deicke on guitar, Hunter Davis on bass and John Beckinsale on Drums. The Brisbane 4 piece have supported the likes of Jacuzzi Boys (USA) and Chakra Efendi with their unique, audio-visual based live show.

Combining outrageous costumes and quirky stage projections with their polyrhythmic surf punk sound, the Gametes have created an enthralling piece of performance art, earning them a reputations as one of Brisbane’s best live bands. Their debut LP The Astronomical Calamities Of Comet Jones was released in August 2018 by local indie label Coolin’ By Sound.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 23rd of September 2018.

Show production and engineering: Reuben Aptroot.


Ep 252 Instagram.png

Photo: Mr C Media


Recorded & mixed by Reuben Aptroot
Recorded at the Foundry, Brisbane, 6th July 2018

RACKETT are made up of Bec Callander on guitar and vocals, Kat Ayala on lead guitar, Ally Gavin on bass, and Astrid Holz on drums. Based in Sydney, the band have been steadily rising since their inception in 2016, releasing their debut EP Ready Or Not in 2017 with Dave Hammer (Washington, Thundamentals, Born Lion) producing.

Since then Rackett have played in major theatres and festivals throughout Australia, receiving regular airplay on community radio and reaching the finals of the inaugural VB Hard Yards competition in 2017. They have supported the likes of DZ Deathrays, The Darkness, Killing Heidi and Bleached, also appearing at  Groovin the Moo (2018), Festival of the Sun and Secret Garden Festival.

In early 2018 the band released two singles Alive and Space Cadet, which they produced, recorded and mixed themselves. This show was taken from a run of dates in support of the latter and showcases the bands captivating live performances.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 29th of July 2018.

Show production and engineering: Reuben Aptroot.

EP 250: Helmet

Ep 250 Instagram

Photo: Allan Allport


Recorded  & mixed by Branko Cosic
Recorded at the Brightside, Brisbane, 30th April 2017

The original Helmet line up, consisting of Page Hamilton on guitar and vocals, Brisbane-born Peter Mengede on guitar, Henry Bogdan on bass and John Stainer on drums, formed in 1989 in New York City. Quickly signing to Amphetamine Reptile Records, they release their debut album Strap It On the year after.

This led the band to be signed by Interscope Records in early 1992, with label mates including Primus, Nine Inch Nails, Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg. Their first Interscope release Meantime   (1992) was certified gold and remains Helmets biggest commercial success to date. Betty (1994) soon followed, bringing the band to our shores to play the now legendary Livid Festival 1994 line up featuring Beastie Boys, Superchunk, Frank Black and Tumbleweed.

A falling out between Hamilton and Mengede in 1993 meant Peter didn’t make the trip out, but returned to reside in Brisbane in later years. This would be the first of many line up changes for the band, with Hamilton remaining the only constant member. Once touring Aftertaste over 1997-98, Helmet disbanded before reforming again in 2004 to release Size Matters. They have released a total of 8 studios albums and remain one of the most influential bands of the alternative rock movement.

In 2017, Helmet returned to Brisbane for the first time since 2011, as part of their ‘Betty’ retrospective tour. This set features selections from the album as well as tracks from their latest LP Dead To The World and fan favourites from their lengthy back catalogue. Spliced in throughout the set is an interview conducted by Branko Cosic with founding member Page Hamilton.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 8th of July 2018.

Show production and engineering: Reuben Aptroot.