EP 163: Courtney Barnett

Courtney Barnett
Recorded by Harvey O’Sullivan and Hugh Fasher
Mixed by Harvey O’Sullivan and Hugh Fasher
Mastered by Andrew Edgson
Recorded at The Metro Theatre, Sydney, 8th of May 2015.

In the past 5 years, Courtney has gone from starting a humble little record label with money borrowed from her Grandmother to release her recordings, to international award-winning acclaim, all whilst keeping a level head and staying independent.

Releasing two EP’s in 2012 and 2013 and re-releasing them on Vinyl as ‘The Double EP: A Sea Of Split Peas’ through her Milk! Records imprint, she started gaining the attention of respected publications such as Pitchfork, Rolling Stone, Stereogum and Q Magazine with her song ‘Avant Gardner’. In March 2015, she released her debut album ‘Sometimes I Sit And Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit’ which won her the Australian Music Prize and 4 ARIA Awards for Best Independent Release, Cover Art, Female Artist and Breakthrough Artist. She was nominated for a Grammy for Best New Artist and a Brit Award for Best International Female.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 22nd May 2016.
Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.

Episode 135: Neighbour, Polish Club

Recorded & Mixed by Branko Cosic.
Recorded at The Triffid, Brisbane, 23rd of August 2015.

First up is Brisbane singer songwriter Ryan Nebauer who performs under the name Neighbour. Ryan formerly fronted local rock band Fushia, who had lots of success including national tours, and two nominations for Queensland Music Awards. But for the past two years he’s been writing songs solo and has stripped it down to a low key folk pop style. His recordings and live performances feature members of the medics, cheap fakes, pigeon, and sometimes he even gets his dad to jump on the double bass.

Polish Club
Recorded by Harvey O’Sullivan and Hugh Fasher
Mixed by Hugh Fasher
Mastered by Andrew Edgson
Recorded at The Metro, Sydney, 9th of May 2015.

Polish club describe themselves as the spirit of Motown’s finest with the rock scuzz of Detroit. Their sound is a mix of brash blues guitar riffs over up tempo drums, and a howling voice to top it off. The band has only released four songs so far but has gained enough attention to attract national interest which saw them land a spot on 2015’s Big Sound Live lineup.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 8-9pm, Friday 18th September 2015.
Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.

Episode 90: Dud Pills; Scrabbled

Screen Shot 2014-10-02 at 11.17.53 am

Dud Pills
Recorded by Patrick Lockwood.
Mixed by Patrick Lockwood.
Recorded at The Metro, Adelaide. 24 November 2013.

Did you know that some of the fellas from Bitch Prefect were all in a short-lived band called Dud Pills? Pat Telfer, Liam Kenny and their mate Pete who allegedly punched a guy so hard that a tooth got embedded in his fist. Dud Pills share a lot of similarities with the lo-fi pop of the aforementioned Bitch Prefect as well as some psych tendencies that Pat lashes out these days in his own band, ‘Old Mate’. They only ever had two releases a CD-R on Dirty Burger Records and a cassette titled ‘Sexy As Hell’ that released on Stacey Wilson’s (Terrible Truths, Rites Wild) old label ‘Faux Friends’. In November 2013, 3 years after that cassette, they reunited for a show at The Metro in Adelaide where they premiered one whole new song.

– Listen/buy to Old Mate’s ‘It Is What It Is’ on the SDZ records Bandcamp.

– Listen/pre-order to Liam Kenny’s cover of Leonard Cohen’s ‘Avalanche’ from ‘A Kenny For Your Thoughts, out in November on It Records on soundcloud.


Recorded by Steve Palmer.
Mixed by Josh Watson.
Recorded at The Beetle Bar, Brisbane. 12 September 2014.

Clag vocalist Bek Moore formed Scrabbled with Extrafoxx main-guy Conwae Burrell and the group rapidly ballooned in membership not long after formation. Conwae has since moved on from the group but Dag front-man Dusty has taken on the male response vocals and rhythm guitar duties. These days there are anywhere between 6 to 9 members on stage at once playing guitars, double basses, self-made instruments, violins, synths etc. The group is a veritable who’s who of the Brisbane underground music scene (better known as The Real Bad Music Scene) and has included: Jason Bright (Dragster), Mark Spinks (Gravel Samwidge), Emily Wade, Max Fowler-Roy, Tim Green, Michael Bouwman, Sandra Selig (Primitive Motion), Marissa Allen (Bremen Town Musician), Glen Schenau (Per Purpose), Heidi Cutlack (Bent), Chris Nylstoch, Adam Sussman (X-Wave), Matt Earle (xNoBBQx), Nicola Morton (Club Sound Witches) and Skye McNicol (Wardenburger). The collective produce a pastiche of strange sounds tugging at the limits of sensible music, which goes hand in hand with their anti-establishment agenda and detest for Queensland’s conservative LNP majority. Scrabbled are one of the most visibly political indie-rock bands in Australia right now.

– Listen/buy to Scrabbled’s ‘Welcome To Pig City’ over at the Virtual Cool Bandcamp.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 8-9pm, Friday 3 October 2014.
Show production and engineering: Josh Watson.