Ep 202: The Nation Blue

The Nation Blue

TNB ZO 1Photo: Zo Damage

Recorded by Reuben Aptroot
Mixed by Sam Lowe
Recorded at Crowbar, Brisbane, 16th October 2016

Born in Tasmania in 1996, The Nation Blue have spent the past two decades putting on the most intense live performances and writing about some of the bleakest subjects about living in Australia that most people are afraid to touch upon. The 2000’s were quite busy for the band, pumping out 4 albums and touring relentlessly around the country and overseas. The members took a break from the band in the early 2010’s to play in other projects such as Harmony, High Tension & King Cannons. After agreeing to get back  together to record a song for the Tym Records 7” singles club in 2013, they started to slowly fill up a bag with songs and themes that they wanted to sing about. Over two sessions between 2015 to 2016, they escaped to a hall in Kyneton, Victoria with Mike Deslandes and recorded 30 songs, which turned into two albums that were released on the same day in October 2016 through Poison City Records, titled Black and Blue.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 2nd of April 2017.

Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.

EP 172: Gold Class; Pale Heads

Gold Class


Recorded by Tom Strode
Mixed by Tom Strode
Recorded at PBS FM Studios, Melbourne, 28th December 2015.

Starting in Melbourne in 2014, Gold Class has had a rapid rise to where they are today. In two years, they have released a 7 inch, written, recorded and released their debut album ‘Its You’ via well known tastemaker label Spunk Records here in Australia, as well as scoring an international release through Felte Records for the US and Europe. Their sound has drawn comparisons to bands from the UK’s post-punk beginnings like Joy Division and The Cure.


Pale Heads


Recorded by Alicia Saye
Mixed by Alicia Saye
Recorded at PBS FM Studios, Melbourne, 2nd of June 2016.

Pale Heads are a punk rock super-power formed from several pieces of DNA from Melbourne’s underground scene including members from The Nation Blue, The Drones, Batpiss, and BANG! BANG! AIDS!. They are fast, loud and straight to the point punk rock, which has made it easily for them to slip into the roster of legendary Australian label Poison City for the release of their first album ‘Headless’ which was released in May 2015.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 7th August 2016.
Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.