Ep 192: The Highlights of 2016 – Part 1

The Highlights of 2016 – Part 1



Part 1 of our 2016 Highlights special includes Kitchen’s Floor, Horris, Gentle Ben And His Sensitive Side, Velociraptor, The Leftovers, WAAX, DEAD, Amaringo, Ben Salter, Mexico City and Custard

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 25th of December, 2016.

Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.

EP 181: Grieg; Eat Laser Scumbag!



Recorded by Reuben Aptroot
Mixed by Branko Cosic
Recorded at Crowbar, Brisbane 10th of June 2016.

Featuring members from almost every prominent Brisbane punk band through the 2000’s, Grieg features Alex Gillies; member of No Anchor and A Savage God on drums, Tamara Dawn from Hits and Gazoonga Attack on Bass, John Mercer from Undead Apes and Dick Nasty on guitar, and Lance Sinclair on vocals. Together they bring big noise, big riffs, and a heaviness that could only be achieved by a band comprised of this many stellar Brisbane artists. They have released one album so far, titled ‘Retaliate First’, and is available digitally or on vinyl through their Bandcamp page.

Eat Laser Scumbag!


Photo by Branko Cosic

Recorded by Reuben Aptroot
Mixed by Branko Cosic
Recorded at Sonic Masala Festival, Brisbane, 13th of August 2016.

Kicking it around Brisbane since the early 2000’s, Eat Laser Scumbag! released their first EP in 2005 and have been sparingly playing their brand of punk rock all over the place since. Like most Brisbane bands, Eat Laser Scumbag! is made up of members who all play in another band. In this case, the two guitarists Ashley Timms and Nathan Gygar play in Nova Scotia, bassist Adam Scott plays in Undead Apes (who we have previously featured in Episode 178), and finally Xavier Poropat on drums from Eyes Ninety (who we also previously featured in Episode 180). Their latest EP ‘Chakras Aligned’ was released in September 2014 and is available online through their Bandcamp. This set you are about to hear is their first show on Australian soil in four years.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 16th of October 2016.

Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.

EP 178: Edith Thomas Furey; Undead Apes

Edith Thomas Furey


Recorded & mixed by Reuben Aptroot.

Recorded at The Brightside, Brisbane, 4th March 2016. 

Coming from Brisbane, this one man band is the brain product of Joel Glazebrook. Using an elaborate setup of synths, drum machines, guitars, and loop pedals both in the studio and for live performances, Edith Thomas Furey create catchy new wave post punk with an 80’s feel, with some heavier kind of elements taken straight from the 90’s industrial scene. Since august he has released three singles, with mention of an EP due in the future.

Undead Apes


Recorded by Reuben Aptroot.
Mixed by Branko Cosic.
Recorded at Club Greenslopes as part of Sonic Masala Fest, 13th August 2016.


Undead Apes are the all star team of punk rock bands from Brisbane in the early 2000’s. They feature Simon Graydon from Sekiden, John Mercer from Greig, and Dick Nasty, Adam Scott from Eat Laser Scumbag!, and Renae Elise from Gazoonga Attack. Their live shows are a complete rarity with their bassist Adam living overseas, but they have still found time to write and record three albums over their lifespan, which have all been released on Brisbane label mere noise records. Their latest album ‘Landfill’ was released on the 14th of June 2016 and features lyrical themes such as astrophysics, recreational use of embalming fluid, tofu, communist brainwashing of youth via rock’n’roll, and affairs of the heart. This set was captured at their only live show of 2016.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 18th September 2016.

Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.