EP 225: FOAM; Morning Harvey

Ep 225 Instagram.png

Photo: Stuart Sevastos (F) Linda Dunjey (MH)


Recorded by Eileen Tierney
Mixed by Branko Cosic
Recorded at Woolly Mammoth Alehouse, Brisbane, 15th September 2017

FOAM are a three-piece garage rock band from Perth, WA. Their heavy live performances deliver a filthy wall of sound reminiscent of the alternative rock boom of the late 80’s/early 90’s. Since the release of their first EP Sarpa Salpa in July of 2012, FOAM have released a total of four EP’s, including a split with fellow Perth locals Puck.

During this time they have toured the country on numerous occasions playing festivals such as MATES Sydney,Big Day Out and Groovin’ The Moo, as well as headlining their own shows and supporting acts such as DZ Deathrays, Wax Witches and Sleepy Sun. In February of 2017, FOAM released their long awaited debut album Coping Mechanisms. The album was written in the basement beneath a toasted sandwich shop in Perth. It’s about coming to terms with yourself, the world around you, and the ways we try to make it work.

Morning Harvey

Recorded by Reuben Aptroot
Mixed by Luke Thomson
Recorded at Valley Fiesta, Brisbane, 29th October 2016

Morning Harvey was formed in 2013, consisting of brothers Spencer and Jackson White and close friend Steve Kempnich. Their debut EP Well For Wishes was released the same year and since then they have gone on to release another EP in 2015 titled “Love&Loveand” as well as a string of singles.

Morning Harvey have supported acts like Dandy Warhols, Band Of Skulls, The Charlatans, and Royal Blood on stages around the country. Their single “Smith Street Swap Meet” also gained them attention from John Richards of Seattle radio station KEXP with a Song Of The Day placement leading to support from numerous US College Radio Stations.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 22nd of October 2017.

Show production and engineering: Reuben Aptroot.

Ep 209: The Vines

The Vines

2 TheVines_ValleyFiesta_53Photo: James Matthews

Recorded by Reuben Aptroot
Mixed by Luke Thomson
Recorded at Valley Fiesta, Brisbane, 29th October 2016

The foundation of The Vines can be traced back to the southern suburbs of Sydney when Craig Nicholls met Patrick Matthews and David Olliffe in 1994 and started a band called Rishikesh. The name kept being misspelt wherever it was mentioned, so Craig suggested to change the name to ‘The Vines’ in honour of the band that his father played in back in the 60’s, also called The Vynes.

2001 would be the year that things started to fall into place for the band. Travelling to Los Angeles to record their debut album ‘Highly Evolved’, they had record labels climbing over each other to get the band’s signature. The album came out in July 2002 and music publications world wide were holding the band up as “the new saviours of rock”.

Their highly anticipated 2nd album came out in March 2004 under the title ‘Winning Days’ and had mixed reviews from critics and fans at the time.

After recording their first two albums in the USA, the band decided to record the next record in their hometown, which came out in 2006 under the title, Vision Valley. They went back to the States to record 2008’s Melodia and settled back in Australia for the recordings of Future Primitive and Wicked Nature.  2017 will see the release of their 7th record, titled ‘In Miracle Land’.


Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 4th of June 2017.

Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.

Ep 207: Gabriella Cohen; Hey Geronimo

Gabriella Cohen

Gabriiella CohenPhoto: Zo Damage

Engineered by Alicia Saye & Paul Maybury
Recorded at PBS FM Studios, Melbourne, 8th February 2017

Gabriella Cohen is a Melbourne based musician originally from Brisbane. Formerly one half of indie-rock duo The Furrs, Cohen  has taken off in a more eclectic pop route with her solo project work. She released her EP ‘Updated Regurgitated Server’  in 2015 independently, which was supported by singles ‘I Don’t Feel So Alive’, and ‘Feelin’ Fine’. Her debut full length, ‘Full Closure and No Details’ came in 2016, and was supported with national touring and a BIGSOUND slot.

Hey Geronimo

HeyGeronimo_ValleyFiesta_12Photo: James Matthews

Recorded by Reuben Aptroot
Mixed by Luke Thomson
Recorded at Valley Fiesta, Brisbane, 29th October 2016

Hey Geronimo are an indie rock band hailing from Brisbane. The band was originally comprised of Pete Kilroy on guitar and vocals, Bill Bingley on bass and vocals, Ross Pearson on guitar and vocals, and Tony Garrett on drums, but later added Pluto Jonze on keys to their line up. They released a self-titled EP in 2012, then knuckled down on their live set, building a fan base and fine tuning their sound. Their debut album, ‘Crashing Into The Sun’ came out mid-2016, and was supplemented with single ‘Boredom’, which won them a Queensland Music Award for best music video. The band released the single ‘Mutant’ in 2017, which was supported by a East Coast tour.  

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 21st of May 2017.

Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.