EP 254: 2017 BIGSOUND Special ft: High-tails, WAAX & Machine Age

Ep 254 Instagram.png

Photo: Etch Mate (HT) Ian Laidlaw (W) Jess Gleeson (MA)


Recorded by Sam Lowe & mixed by Branko Cosic
Recorded at Ric’s Big Backyard, Brisbane, 7th September 2017



Recorded by Eileen Tierny & mixed by Reuben Aptroot
Recorded at the Brightside Outdoor Stage, Brisbane,7th September 2017


Machine Age

Recorded by Caitlin Selder & mixed by Reuben Aptroot
Recorded at the Foundry, Brisbane,7th September 2017

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 26th of August 2018.

Show production and engineering: Reuben Aptroot.

Ep 191: The Highlights Of 2016 – Part 1

The Highlights of 2016 – Part 1


Part 1 of our 2016 Highlights special includes Kitchen’s Floor, Horris, Gentle Ben And His Sensitive Side, Velociraptor, The Leftovers, WAAX, DEAD, Amaringo, Ben Salter, Mexico City and Custard

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 25th of December, 2016.

Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.

EP 158: Jess Ribeiro; WAAX; Caitlin Park

Jess Ribeiro
Recorded by Alicia Saye and Paul Maybury
Mixed by Alicia Saye and Paul Maybury
Mastered by Paul Maybury
Recorded at PBS Fm Studios, Melbourne, 3rd February 2016.


Jess Ribeiro’s career started as a three piece, featuring her long-term​ collaborator Rob Law in the group Jess Ribeiro and the Bone Collectors in the very under-represented​ city of Darwin. Their debut album My Little River won best country album at the 2013 AIR independent label awards. After an amicable creative split with Rob Law, Jess began working on her first solo record with legendary Australian musician, composer, songwriter, arranger Mick Harvey. Her album ‘Kill It Yourself’ was released in August 2015.


Recorded and Mixed by Branko Cosic.
Recorded at The Elephant, Brisbane, 25th January 2016.

Starting in 2013, WAAX have been pushing everyone out of their way with their raw, punk-infused​ brand of rock. They have rapidly become an act that’s known for their high energy live shows that is partly due to the fear instilled​ by their utterly terrifying and frenzied frontwoman Marie DeVita. In 2015, they released their debut EP Holy Sick and followed it up with an east coast tour that had everyone talking.

Caitlin Park

Recorded by Harvey O’Sullivan & Hugh Fasher
Mixed by Harvey O’Sullivan
Mastered by Andrew Edgson
Recorded at The Standard on the 12th of February, 2014.

Caitlin Park writes and performs folktronica, taking folk and electro-acoustics to new heights with her abstract composition, sampling and film nostalgia. Releasing her debut album in 2011, MILK ANNUAL is a sprawling, intricate and heart-warming foray into the soundscapes of old films, audio books, spoken word, and minimalistic musical arrangement. For much of 2012, Caitlin travelled to New York and London and collected sounds which would appear on her critically lauded 2nd album, 2013’s The Sleeper, which was shortlisted for the Australian Music Prize.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 3rd April 2016.
Show production and engineering: Branko Cosic.